Confirming Linux FS atomicity

October 6, 2008 at 2:47 am (linux) (, )

Today I did an experiment. I ssh-ed to another machine. Then from my own machine, I copy a big ISO file from it using scp.While the transfer was still in-progress, I moved that file at source machine to another folder.

The transfer still going to completion, yet ls at source machine didn’t list it anymore. I confirmed using md5sum that both still are identical.

I didn’t try to rm it though. Quite interesting if it passes.

Maybe some other time I should try to see whether Linux implements COW (copy-on-write) semantic by writing to a file while in transfer. They should differ at the end.

1 Comment

  1. Websites tagged "atomicity" on Postsaver said,

    […] – Confirming Linux FS atomicity saved by ginermeow2008-10-22 – Amarok File Tracking saved by LtodaXzibit525252522008-10-09 – MySQL […]

Leave a Reply

